The best laid plans

So last night I intended to catch both the FAWN fundraiser/announcement gig at Electric Perfume and AtG’s opera pub night.  I figured I could spend an hour up on the Danforth and still hit the Esplanade soon after the start at 9pm.  The first part went fine.  I saw a most enjoyable performance by Adam Scime of Kurtàg’s Message Consolation with some lovely movement work on the floor by Jenn Nichols.  Also I was there long enough to hear Adanya Dunn and Katherine Watson do Anna Höstman’s Children’s Paradise for soprano and flute.  There was news too that FAWN is working with Anna on a new full scale opera for some time in the future.  I had to leave before the rest of the announcements but I’ll pass the news on when I get it.

fawn1617

And so to the Amsterdam Bicycle Club and opera pub night.  I got there a few minutes after 9pm and it was packed with the bouncer not letting anybody in.  The lemur came out looking for me and traded her place inside for the official AtG photographer who was also stuck in the small crowd forming on the sidewalk.  There seemed little chance of anything changing anytime soon and it’s December; mild for December but still December.  So we headed home.  Moral of the story; go very early.

Leave a Reply

